SECOORA’s 2015 Annual Meeting was held May 19-20, 2015. Entering the last year of the IOOS five-year grant, the two-day meeting focused on summarizing SECOORA’s past accomplishments and future plans.  SECOORA staff would like to thank everyone who participated, sponsored and attended our meeting. We could not have done this without you! Please read the summary.

Presentations are available for each day.
Tuesday, May 19th Board Meeting: View presentations
Tuesday, May 19th Members Business Meeting: View Presentations
Wednesday, May 20th Stakeholder Meeting: View presentations and PI Posters

Day 1: May 19 – Board and Members Meeting (Agenda)

Board Meeting

10:00am – 10:15am Welcome (Conrad Lautenbacher, SECOORA Chair)

10:15am – 10:45am Treasurer Report (Peter Hamilton, SECOORA Treasurer)

10:45am – 11:15pm IOOS Proposal (Debra Hernandez, SECOORA Executive Director)
11:15am – 11:45pm SECOORA DMAC (Rob Bochenek, Information Architect, CEO, Axiom Data Science)
11:45am – 12:00pm

Future Meetings (Conrad Lautenbacher, SECOORA Chair)

12:00pm – 12:30pm Lunch
12:30pm – 1:00pm

Membership Enhancement (Conrad Lautenbacher, SECOORA Chair)

1:00pm – 1:30pm

By-law Review (Mitch Roffer, Governance Committee Chair)

  • Executive Committee Participation by Former Chair
  • Committee Operations
  • Stakeholder Advisory Committee
  • By-law Amendment for a Name Change (Article V, Section 3):
    • Replace National Federation of Regional Associations with IOOS Association
1:30pm – 2:00pm

Board Goals for 7/15 – 6/16 (Conrad Lautenbacher, SECOORA Chair)

2:00pm – 2:30pm SOCAN Briefing (Scott Noakes, University of Georgia)
2:30pm Adjourn

Members Business Meeting

3:00pm –3:15pm Welcome (Conrad Lautenbacher, SECOORA Chair)
3:15pm – 3:30pm

Innovations in Surface HF Radar and Subsurface Acoustic Ocean Technologies for use in Coastal Ocean Observatories (David Fissel, ASL Environmental Sciences Inc.)

3:30pm – 4:00pm

IOOS Association Update and Congressional Outlook (Josie Quintrell, Director, IOOS Association)

4:00pm – 5:00pm

SECOORA Members Business Meeting

  • SECOORA Annual Update (Debra Hernandez, SECOORA Executive Director)
  • By-law Amendment (Mitch Roffer, Governance Committee Chair)
    • Replace National Federation of Regional Associations with IOOS Association (Article V, Section 3)
  • SECOORA FY16 Operating Budget (Peter Hamilton, SECOORA Treasurer)
  • Review of Election Procedures / Annual Election of Board of Director
    (Mitch Roffer, Board Development Committee Chair)
  • Board Member Recognition (Conrad Lautenbacher, SECOORA Chair)
5:00pm – 6:30pm Happy Hour with Sponsors

Day 2: May 20 – Stakeholder Meeting (Agenda)

8:00am – 8:30am Registration and Coffee
8:30am – 8:45am Welcome (Conrad Lautenbacher, SECOORA Chair)
8:45am – 9:15am

State of IOOS (George Jungbluth, Chief, Regions, Budget and Policy, U.S. IOOS)

9:15am – 10:00am Accomplishments SECOORA IOOS Award 2010-2015 – Part 1 (Debra Hernandez, SECOORA Executive Director)
10:00am – 10:30am Break with Sponsors
10:30am – 12:15pm

Accomplishments SECOORA IOOS Award 2010-2015 – Part 2

12:15pm – 1:05pm

Lunch and Guest Speaker

  • 12:45pm – 1:05pm, Capt. Mike Getchell, Jacksonville Marine Transportation Exchange, Inc.
1:05pm – 1:15pm

Process for PI Poster Session (Vembu Subramanian, SECOORA Program Manager)

1:15pm– 2:15pm

PI Poster and Q&A Session 

2:15pm – 2:45pm

SECOORA IOOS Proposal 2016-2021 – Part 1 (Debra Hernandez, SECOORA Executive Director)

2:45pm – 3:00pm Break with Sponsors
3:00pm – 4:00pm SECOORA IOOS Proposal 2016-2021 – Part 2 (Mitch Roffer, ROFFS®)
4:00pm – 4:30pm

Wrap-up and Adjourn (Debra Hernandez, SECOORA Executive Director)

PI Posters


SECOORA thanks the following sponsors who generously supported our meeting!
Gold Sponsor: